Music News

And the 2014 Inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Are…

Here’s who will be honoured at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on April 10:

  • Peter Gabriel (Deservedly so)
  • Hall and Oates (Um…)
  • KISS (Yeah, they should be here.)
  • Nirvana (Feel old, Gen Xers?)
  • Linda Ronstadt (I guess…)
  • Cat Stevens (Not very rock’n’roll, innit?)

The two recipients of the Ahment Ertegun Awards will be:

  • Brian Epstein (former manager of the Beatles, dead since 1967)
  • Andrew Loog Oldham (original manager of the Rolling Stones and a wonderful eccentric; I’ve met him.)

And then there’s something called The Award for Musical Excellence that will go to the E Street Band.

More details can be found here.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38343 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

6 thoughts on “And the 2014 Inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Are…

  • So I guess that the Award for Musical Excellence goes to bands who have a member die and will never make it to the hall of fame? Perhaps it would be supporting bands to a hall member?

  • Cat Stevens isn’t very rock and roll, but neither is Madonna. The HoF stopped being very relevant when they inducted her (especially ahead of eleventeen other actual rock and roll artists).

  • It’s hard to justify Cat’s exclusion coupled with NWA’s exclusion IMO. If it’s supposed to be rock and roll then neither should make it but if it’s broader than rock and roll then I would have picked NWA before Stevens. The sun will still rise tomorrow either way I guess.


Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.