Music News

And the Winners of the First-Ever Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize Are…

If you’re a music nerd, you’ll be well acquainted with the madness that’s come with ten years of the Polaris Music Prize (and I mean that with the utmost affection). This year, though, there was a new component added to the festivities. What about honouring those great Canadian artists who did great stuff in the decades before Polaris? That was the thinking behind the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize which seeks to bring recognition to older Canadian acts. Think of it as a Polaris Hall of Fame.

After an exhausting nomination process and public vote on a selection of nominees, a jury of 25 people consisting of current and past Polaris juries as well as members of the music media and a few music historians (not me this year, just so you know) hashed out the winners. Here they are:

Polaris Heritage Winners 2015

  • Blue by Joni Mitchell (60s & 70s)
  • The Trinity Session by the Cowboy Junkies (80s)
  • Twice Removed by Sloan (90s)
  • The Teaches of Peaches by Peaches (00s: 2000-2005)

That’s it for 2015. The Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize will be back next year. Who do you think should be here?

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 37434 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.