Collapsed in Sunbeams by Arlo Parks wins the 2021 Mercury Prize

In hindsight, people who follow UK music could see this coming. Arlo Parks’s Collapsed in Sunbeams was both a critical and commercial success, making it an early favourite for this year’s Mercury Prize. The 21-year-old was selected by the Grand Jury, resulting in a £25,000 cash prize.

Here’s her performance from the event.

This was the competition.

WINNER: Arlo Parks – Collapsed In Sunbeams
Black Country, New Road – For the First Time…
Celeste – Not Your Muse
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promises
Ghetts – Conflict of Interest
Hannah Peel – Fir Wave
Laura Mvula – Pink Noise
Mogwai – As the Love Continues
Nubya Garcia – SOURCE
SAULT – Untitled (Rise)
Wolf Alice – Blue Weekend

Further coverage here.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.