Music News

Here are the nominees for the 2023 Indie Music Awards

Canadian Music Week is coming up in Toronto next month and, as usual, part of the festivities include the Canadian Indie Music Awards. Here are your nominees. Public voting can be done here.

The 2023 Jim Beam® INDIES Nominees are:

Album of the Year – presented by SiriusXM
Alexisonfire – “Otherness”
Broken Social Scene – “Old Dead Young”
July Talk – “Remember Never Before”
MONOWHALES – “Tunnel Vision”
Tegan and Sara – “Crybaby”

Artist of the Year – presented by SiriusXM
Simple Plan
Tegan and Sara

Country Artist/Group or Duo of the Year
Brett Kissel
Jess Moskaluke
Madeline Merlo
Tim Hicks

Electronic/Dance Artist/Group or Duo of the Year
DJ Shub
Felix Cartal

Francophone Artist/Group or Duo of the Year
Daniel Bélanger
Gabrielle Shonk
Jean-Michel Blais
Les Louanges
Sophia Bel

Group or Duo of the Year
Broken Social Scene
Digging Roots
Tegan and Sara
The Glorious Sons

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year
AR Paisley
Dom Vallie

Independent Label of the Year
604 Records
Arts & Crafts Productions
Ishkōdé Records
Six Shooter Records
Wax Records

Indigenous Artist/Group or Duo of the Year – presented by SiriusXM
Digging Roots
Julian Taylor
Logan Staats
William Prince

Pop Artist/Group or Duo of the Year
Josh Ramsay
Shawn Desman
Virginia to Vegas

Producer of the Year
Akeel Henry
Banx & Ranx
Hill Kourkoutis
Mike Wise

Publisher of the Year – Presented by CMRRA
Anthem Entertainment
Arts & Crafts Music
CCS Rights Management
Kilometre Music Group
Third Side Music

R&B Artist/Group or Duo of the Year
Dylan Sinclair
Jon Vinyl

Rock Artist/Group or Duo of the Year
Simple Plan
The Beaches
The Sadies

Roots/Folk Artist of the Year
Andy Shauf
Basia Bulat
The Bros. Landreth
Dan Mangan
The Dead South

Song of the Year – Presented by SOCAN
“We Could Get High” – Songwriter – Billy Raffoul – Performed by Billy Rafoul
“Do About Her” – Songwriters – Amanda Rheaume, Alida Kinny Star – Performed by Amanda Rheaume
“I Hope You Change Your Mind” – Songwriters – Donovan Woods, David Hodges – Performed by Donovan Woods
“I’m Not Your Lover”- Songwriter – Leif Vollebekk – Performed by Leif Vollebekk
“Casamigos”– Songwriters – Derik John Baker, Geoff Warburton, Michael Jared Robinson, Mike Wise, Seth Ennis – Performed by Virginia to Vegas

Video of the Year
Charlotte Cardin & Lubalin – “Phoenix (Reprise)”
Dom Vallie – “BEEN HIMMA”
July Talk – “After This”
MONOWHALES – “StuckintheMiddle”
Whitehorse – “If The Loneliness Don’t Kill Me”

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38516 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.