Music News

Here are the winners from Saturday night’s Juno Awards gala

Like all music awards programs, the Junos broadcast is about putting together a mass appeal mainstream prime time TV show. The Junos like a nice, tight two-hour broadcast, something that’s in stark contrast to other bloated programs like the Grammys.

As a result, only six awards make the broadcast. That’s all that can fit within the framework of all the performances and tributes. All the other awards–dozens of ’em–are handed out the night before at a big gala event.

You can find all the winners here, but here are the results in the categories for people who read this website probably care the most about.

Alternative Album of the Year Sponsored by Long & McQuade

Antisocialites, Alvvays – WINNER
Everything Now, Arcade Fire
Life After Youth, Land of Talk
Retribution, Tanya Tagaq
Wide Open, Weaves

Rock Album of the Year

Grace Street, Big Wreck
Outrage! Is Now, Death From Above
Feed The Machine, Nickelback
Young Beauties and Fools, The Glorious Sons – WINNER
Wake Up Call, Theory

Adult Alternative Album of the Year

Introduce Yerself, Gord Downie – WINNER
Twin Solitude, Leif Vollebekk
New Mistakes, Terra Lightfoot
Sincerely, Future Pollution, Timber Timbre
Panther In The Dollhouse, Whitehorse

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year

Voice of the Void, Anciients – WINNER
Relentless Mutation, Archspire
II: Vanishing, Longhouse
Strange Peace, Metz
Striker, Striker

International Album of the Year

24K Magic, Bruno Mars
÷, Ed Sheeran
DAMN., Kendrick Lamar – WINNER
Stoney, Post Malone
reputation, Taylor Swift


Group of the Year

A Tribe Called Red – WINNER
Arcade Fire
Broken Social Scene


Breakthrough Group of the Year

James Barker Band
The Beaches – WINNER
The Dead South
The Franklin Electric
The Jerry Cans


Single of the Year,

How Far I’ll Go, Alessia Cara
Everything Now, Arcade Fire
Knocking at the Door, Arkells
I Feel It Coming ft. Daft Punk, The Weeknd
There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back, Shawn Mendes – WINNER


Pop Album of the Year

Skin & Earth, Lights – WINNER
My Love, Ria Mae
Safe Haven, Ruth B
Hȏtel de Ville, Scott Helman


Songwriter of the Year

“Come Back for Me”, “Watershed”, “Try” WATERSHED – Amelia Curran
Amelia Curran
“Main Girl”, “Paradise Motion”, “The Kids” MAIN GIRL – Charlotte Cardin
Charlotte Cardin
“A Natural”, “Introduce Yerself”, “The North” INTRODUCE YERSELF – Gord Downie
Gord Downie & Kevin Drew – WINNER
“Chosen”, “Grace” – co-songwriter Mark Erelli, “White Flag” – co-songwriter KS Rhoads NATURAL CONCLUSION – Rose Cousins
Rose Cousins
“21 Days” – co-songwriters Simon Wilcox, Thomas ‘Tawgs’ Salter, Michael J. Wise, Ron Lopata, “It’s Kinda Complicated” – co-songwriters Thomas ‘Tawgs’ Salter, Todd Clark, Ron Lopata, “PDA” – co-songwriters Simon Wilcox, Thomas ‘Tawgs’ Salter, Ron Lopata HÔTEL DE VILLE – Scott Helman
Scott Helman

Video of the Year

Christopher Mills
THE DRUGS – Mother Mother
Emma Higgins
VENUS FLY – Grimes
Grimes (Claire Boucher) – WINNER
GATEKEEPER – Jessie Reyez
Peter Huang
Shane Cunningham & Mark Myers

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38129 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.