Music News

Here’s Your Short List for the Prism Prize

Every year, more than 120 Canadian industry professionals (me included) vote on the Prism Prize, which seeks to name the best Canadian music video of the past year. The shortlist for this year is:

  1. The New Pornographers – Dancehall Domine (Directors: Scott Cudmore and Michael LeBlanc)
  2. PUP – Guilt Trip (Directors: Chandler Levack and Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)
  3. Fur Trade – Same Temptation (Director: Kheaven Lewandowski)
  4. Rich Aucoin – Yelling in Sleep (Director: Joel Mackenzie)
  5. Ryan Hemsworth – Snow in Newark (Director: Martin C. Pariseau)
  6. Kandle – Not Up to Me (Director: Natalie Rae Robison)
  7. Kevin Drew – You in Your Were (Director: Samir Rehem)
  8. Odonis Odonis – Order in the Court (Director: Lee Stringle)
  9. Chad VanGaalen – Monster (Director: Chad VanGaalen)
  10. Timber Timbre – Beat the Drum Slowly (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

The winner of the $5,000 prize will be named at a big gala in Toronto at the TIFF Bell Lightbox on March 29. Here’s a reel of the finalists.

2015 Prism Prize Top Ten from Prism Prize on Vimeo.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 37921 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.