A New Gord Downie Album is Coming October 27! (Yes, You Read That Correctly)

Earlier today (September 28), Gord Downie tweeted out news of a new solo album entitled Introduce Yerself that will be released on October 27 through Arts & Crafts. Whoa. Did NOT see that coming.

Whoa. Did NOT see that coming.

Everything was recorded over two four-day sessions in January 2016 and February 2017.

In the trailer video, Gord says “This is my solo record. Each song is about a person”–or, as the album blurb says, “74 minutes of Downie’s most personal storytelling.” The effort was produced by Kevin Drew of Broken Social Scene, who also co-wrote a few songs.

Here’s the track listing

  1. First Person
  2. Wolf’s Home
  3. Bedtime
  4. Introduce Yerself
  5. Coco Chanel No.5
  6. Ricky Please
  7. Safe Is Dead
  8. Spoon
  9. A Natural
  10. Faith Faith
  11. My First Girlfriend
  12. Yer Ashore
  13. Love Over Money
  14. You Me And The B’s
  15. Snowflake
  16. A Better End
  17. Nancy
  18. Thinking About Us
  19. The Road
  20. You Are The Bird
  21. The Lake
  22. Far Away And Blurred
  23. The North

Pre-orders begin Friday here.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 30+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

One thought on “A New Gord Downie Album is Coming October 27! (Yes, You Read That Correctly)

  • September 27, 2017 at 11:02 am

    This sounds great His Coke Machine Glow is still a fave of mine – one that in my head (maybe because i had them recorded on the same minidisc) is as good and forever linked with Wilco’s YHF. Not cuckoo bananas about the Hip, but i really like his solo stuff.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.