New Nine Inch Nails Coming Next Friday

True to his word–Trent had hinted that new Nine Inch Nails music was coming before the end of the year–a new EP entitled Not the Actual Events will be released next Friday (December 23). This will be the first NIN material since Hesitation Marks in 2013.


Whatever it sounds like, it’ll be nothing like Trent’s recent soundtrack work with collaborator Atticus Ross. A press release says “It’s an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make. It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

The EP will be available digitally (naturally), as one-sided vinyl (neat) and as a “physical component” (Trent doesn’t explain what that means).  Here’s the tracklisting:

Not the Actual Events

1. “Branches/Bones”
2. “Dear World,”
3. “She’s Gone Away”
4. “The Idea of You”
5. “Burning Bright (Field on Fire)”

And there’s more.

A reissue of The Fragile, the band’s 1999 album, is also coming. To be known as The Fragile: Deviations 1, the collection will be available only on vinyl (4 x 12′” LPs) and will come with 37 (!!!) bonus tracks. And once that’s out of the way, there will be vinyl reissues of The Downward Spiral and Broken. Trent had this to say:

“We want to present the catalog as it was intended to be, with no compromises. That means a careful remastering of the audio from the original sources, a painstaking recreation of the artwork, pristine materials, some surprises and an insane attention to detail that you probably won’t notice…but it matters to us. No extra bullshit and gimmicks – the ‘real’ records in their truest form.”

Read more here and here.



Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 30+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

2 thoughts on “New Nine Inch Nails Coming Next Friday

  • December 17, 2016 at 10:29 am

    Deviations 1 is 4LP of the 37 “bonus” tracks. Reworked version of the original album. From my understanding the original album is not included in Deviations 1. The original album is being rereleased on 3LP, so no way to fit 37 bonus tracks on 1 LP unless they are super short snippets. Knowing NIN, they aren’t.

  • December 18, 2016 at 1:19 pm

    Ordering both vinyls will set you back $100 USD + $58 USD shipping…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.