Recommended Music

Published on June 7th, 2018 | by Alan Cross


Prince just released a new song and announced a new album. Yes, THAT Prince.

Were he still alive, Prince would have turned 60 today. To mark the occasion, The Purple One’s estate has announced the released of a new album entitled Piano & a Microphone 1983, a collection of solo material Prince recorded at home. Release is scheduled for September 21.

The first song (single?) from the album is “Mary Don’t You Weep,” a cover of a traditional spiritual that will also play over the closing credits of Spike Lee’s new film, BlacKkKlansman.

When I looked for it on YouTube, I found the song–and then it immediately disappeared. But I did find this chip.

Here’s the full track listing of the album:

  1. 17 Days
  2. Purple Rain
  3. A Case Of You
  4. Mary Don’t You Weep
  5. Strange Relationship
  6. International Lover
  7. Wednesday
  8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
  9. Why The Butterflies

More details here.

Tags: , ,

About the Author

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 30+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top ↑

  • EntertainmentTO

    Music Tech MeetUp

    EntertainmentTO is the best way to expand your knowledge and network within Toronto’s Entertainment Tech community. Our mission is to inspire and empower those interested in shaping the future of Entertainment, including music, video, sports, and gaming.

    EntertainmentTO is led by Alan Cross, best known nationally and internationally as host of the syndicated radio series The Ongoing History of New Music, The Edge, Q107, and more.

    Join us as we bridge the gap between technology, innovation, and entertainment.

  • Twitter