Surprise! Coldplay to Release a New Album in May–and Here’s the First Official Single

Coldplay tends to be one of those bands that futzes around with a new album for months and months, often blowing through label-imposed deadlines.  This time, though, they seem to be on some kind of creative roll. Either that or they’ve been pressured to get something, anything out in a year where sales are in free-fall.

Last week, they issued a video for a song called “Midnight” with zero fanfare.  Today, a new track entitled “Magic” was posted along with the news that it’s from an album called Ghost Stories which is set for release on May 19.  It’s not quite a Bowie-and-Beyonce level of surprise, but few people were expecting anything from Coldplay this soon.

Between this record and whatever U2 has up their sleeve, the late spring/early summer could end up being rather interesting after all.

Here’s the tracklisting for Ghost Stories:

1.  Always in My Head

2.  Magic (Apparently the first official single)

3.  Inki

4.  True Love

5.  Midnight (I really like this track.)

6.  Another’s Arms

7.  Oceans

8.  A Sky Full of Stars

9. O

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.