The 10th Annual Polaris Music Prize is Tonight

We’re into year 10 of the Polaris Music Prize, which means there’s enough critical mass and history for there to be some serious, serious controversies. There was this carefully-time Canadaland post that caused much consternation along with the continuing controversy of nominee Viet Cong and their choice of name.

After months of discussion and arguing and voting, declaring the winner will come down to the choice made by sequestered Grand Jury of eleven people who will hash it out until they can agree which of the following is the best Canadian album of the last twelve months, irrespective of genre or commercial success.

  1. Alvvays – Alvvays
  2. BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul
  3. Braids – Deep In The Iris
  4. Caribou – Our Love
  5. Jennifer Castle – Pink City
  6. Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late
  7. Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon
  8. The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers
  9. Buffy Sainte-Marie – Power In The Blood
  10. Viet Cong – Viet Cong

As a former Final Juror, I know how difficult this job is. There can only be one winner (who will get $30,000 in cash) and nine runners-up (who will get $3,000 each).

From the above list, who has your vote? I can’t even begin to give odds, although my gut (and it’s only MY gut lest there be any misunderstanding), Drake has a good shot along with Buffy Sainte-Marie. If it were my choice, I’d go with Viet Cong.

Whatever happens, I can predict this: Within seconds of the final decision being announced, the bitching and complaining will begin.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.