The Cult Returns After Five Years with a New Album

Bob Rock produced it?  Sounds promising.  Get the download of a track called “Lucifer” as of 2pm EST today (January 31) here.

From the press release:

One of the finest British rock acts to have enjoyed worldwide success over the last few decades, The Cult has wrapped up recording ‘Choice of Weapon’, the group’s first studio album in five years.  Released on 21st May 2012 on their new UK label Cooking Vinyl, its 10 tracks reveal the band at its rawest and most visceral, encapsulating cinematic visions and themes of love, revolt, and redemption.  

Fans can get an early taster of the album from 2pm on Tuesday 31st January when the track ‘Lucifer’ will be available as a free download through the band’s website  Details are being confirmed for a worldwide tour and will be announced soon.

‘Choice of Weapon’ is the follow up to the critically-acclaimed 2007 release ‘Born Into This’ that the UK’s Mojo magazine called “a wholehearted, utopian and irrefutably exciting record.”  Long-time Cult collaborator and producer Bob Rock (Metallica, Bush) – who produced one of The Cult’s most successful albums, the platinum-certified ‘Sonic Temple’ – put the finishing touches on the foundations that were laid by co-producer Chris Goss (Queens of the Stone Age, U.N.K.L.E., Masters of Reality).

The record was written by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, recorded in New York City, Los Angeles, the California high desert, and the band’s Witch Mountain studios in the Hollywood Hills between July and December 2011.  The new release features founding members Astbury on vocals and Duffy on guitars, with drummer John Tempesta and bassist Chris Wyse.  “We have had the opportunity to work with two of the most influential and talented producers in the world today,” said Astbury.  “They pushed us beyond our comfort zone, and helped us craft ‘Choice of Weapon.’”

The album is aimed at the heart of The Cult’s loyal following.  It reflects the current discontent and destruction of our eco systems, the search for individual meaning against a tide of rampant materialism, narcissism and disconnected lives.  “We went deeper . . . we worked a bit harder on this record.  We have great fans and they deserve our best,” added Duffy, “and I feel this is one of our best records, maybe the best.”

The album is released as a special edition fan pack on May 14th, followed by digital and double vinyl on May 21st and the CD and deluxe CD’s on June 4th.   The tracklisting is as follows:

Honey from a Knife / Elemental Light / The Wolf / Life > Death / For The Animals

Amnesia / Wilderness Now / Lucifer / A Pale Horse / This Night In The City Forever

Bonus CD tracks:

Every Man And Woman Is A Star / Embers / Until The Light Takes Us / Siberia


Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38291 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.