Recommended Music

Wilco Drops First Album in Four Years–And It’s Free!

The last time we heard any new material from Wilco, it was 2011 with The Whole Love. In a surprise move, the band dropped a brand new record called Star Wars through its own dBpm Records. And for the first month, it’s yours at no charge. Nada. Free.

Go get the guilt-free download now via and You have until mid-August. It’ll show up on CD August 21 and on vinyl just in time for Black Friday in November.

This isn’t exactly unprecedented with Wilco, of course. They’ve been pre-releasing music in one way or another since 2001.

Jeff Tweedy says “Why release an album this way and why make it free? Well, the biggest reason, and I’m not sure we even need any others, is that it felt like it would be fun.  What’s more fun than a surprise? Enough of this 20th anniversary already, here’s something fresh.”

True that. Nice one.  Here’s your track listing.

Star Wars Track Listing:

1. EKG

2. More…

3. Random Name Generator

4. The Joke Explained

5. You Satellite

6. Taste the Ceiling

7. Pickled Ginger

8. Where Do I Begin

9. Cold Slope

10. King Of You

11. Magnetized

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 37808 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

One thought on “Wilco Drops First Album in Four Years–And It’s Free!

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.