Music News

Here Are Your Winners at the 2014 Western Canadian Music Awards

I was in Winnipeg over the weekend participating in Break Out West, an annual Canadian music conference. The evening ended with the Western Canadian Music Awards. Here are some highlights from the list of winners.

  • Aboriginal Recording of the Year: Federal Lights – We Were Found In The Fog (MB)
  • Electronic/Dance Recording of the Year: Pigeon Hole – Chimp Blood (BC)
  • Independent Album of the Year: Royal Canoe – Today We’re Believers (MB)
  • Metal/Hard Music Recording of the Year: All Else Fails – Fucktropolis (AB)
  • Pop Recording of the Year: Imaginary Cities – Fall of Romance (MB)
  • Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year: Shad – Flying Colours (BC)
  • Rock Recording of the Year: Said The Whale – hawaiii (BC)
  • Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year: Sweet Alibi – We’ve Got To (MB)
  • Roots Solo Recording of the Year: Del Barber – Prairieography (MB)
  • Songwriter(s) of the Year: Del Barber – “Big Smoke” from the album Prairieography (MB)
  • Urban Recording of the Year: Moses Mayes – Featuring Maiko Watson (MB)
  • World Recording of the Year: The Mariachi Ghost – The Mariachi Ghost (MB)


On Saturday October 4 at a very special awards gala in Winnipeg the 2014 Western Canadian Music Industry Award winners were announced. The event included performances by The Sojourners and The Bros. Landreth. Ron Paley received the 2014 Heritage Award and the 2014 Industry Builder was awarded posthumously to Manitoba’s great music champion, Kevin Walters. Announced yesterday, in a moving tribute from J.P. Ellson, from here on in this award will be called The Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award.

2014 Western Canadian Music Industry Award Winners

  • Agency Of The Year: The Feldman Agency (BC)
  • Album Design Of The Year: Geoffrey Hanson / Geoffrey Hanson Design – Cowpuncher – Ghost Notes (AB)
  • Engineer Of The Year: Cam Leoppky – Greg MacPherson, Sweet Alibi, Federal Lights, Slow Leaves, Les Jupes (MB)
  • Heritage Award: Ron Paley (MB)
  • Independent Record Label Of The Year: Black Hen Music (BC)
  • Industry Builder Award: Kevin Walters (MB)
  • Live Music Venue Of The Year: The Park Theatre (MB)
  • Manager Of The Year: Tim Jones (MB)
  • Producer Of The Year: Rusty Matyas – Sweet Alibi, Federal Lights, Slow Leaves (MB)
  • Talent Buyer Of The Year: Marc Thususka  – The Gate (AB)
  • Video Of The Year: Mike Southworth – Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer – Shake It (BC)

BreakOut West 2014 ran from October 2 – 5 in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The 2015 Western Canadian Music Awards will take place during BreakOut West 2015 in Victoria, BC which will run concurrently with Rifflandia Festival September 17 to 20, 2015.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38134 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.