August 24, 2023
Music News

Winners of the 2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Music Prize


The Polaris Music Prize has been around for eleven years now. But here’s a thought experiment: if Polaris had started in the 60s, who might have won in the intervening years?

This is the thinking being the Slaight Family Heritage Polaris Music Prize. Earlier this year, albums representing the eras 1960-1975, 1976-1985, 1986-1995 and 1996-2005 were nominated. Two winners from each era were chosen–one by a public vote and the other by a selected jury. Here are your winners.


Public: Neil Young – After The Gold Rush

Jury: Leonard Cohen – Songs Of Leonard Cohen


1976 – 1985

Public: Rush – Moving Pictures

Jury: Kate & Anna McGarrigle – Kate & Anna McGarrigle



Public: Blue Rodeo – Five Days In July

Jury: Mary Margaret O’Hara – Miss America



Public: Arcade Fire – Funeral

Jury: Lhasa – La Llorona

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 36938 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

2 thoughts on “Winners of the 2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Music Prize

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.