Winners of the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize announced

Most people know about the Polaris Prize, which honours the best in contemporary Canadian music. But what about all the artists and albums that were around before Polaris was established? That’s where the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize comes in.

Each year, nominees from bygone eras are put forth. Votes are cast by both the public and a jury of music industry wonks. Here are this year’s winners.


Public vote: Neil Young – Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
Jury vote: Jean-Pierre Ferland – Jaune

1976 – 1985

Public: Rush – 2112
Jury: Bruce Cockburn – Stealing Fire


Public: Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
Jury: Dream Warriors – And Now the Legacy Begins


Public: Broken Social Scene – You Forgot It In People
Jury: Kid Koala – Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

The records nominated this year that did not get selected as winners will remain on the short lists for the 2019 Heritage Prize. The Heritage jury will add two additional records for each era.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 30+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.