Music News

The 2017 Polaris Music Prize Short List is Here

After weeks of lobbying, kvetching and voting, the 200-ish music industry wonks of the Polaris Music Prize jury have narrowed down nearly 200 submissions to 40 (the Long List) and now to 10. The Short List for 2017 is here. One of these albums will be judged the best Canadian release of the last year in alphabetic order.

  • A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation
  • Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
  • Gord Downie – Secret Path
  • Feist – Pleasure
  • Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
  • Lido Pimienta – La Papessa
  • Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
  • Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude
  • Weaves – Weaves

The winner will get $50,000 in cash while the other nine will get $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music. To refresh your memory, here are the previous winners of the Polaris Music Prize.

Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

This is gonna be a tough call, although personally, I’m leaning towards A Tribe Called Red and Leaves.  Then again, I won’t have a vote because everything will lay in the hands of eleven jurors selected from the general pool.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38413 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.