Oops. Polaris Long List Receives a Correction.

It turns out that there was a glitch in the online voting system for this year’s Polaris Music Prize and that Greg MacPherson’s album Fireball should have made it.  Another organization might have swept this under the rug because, really, who would know?

Not Polaris, though.  It wouldn’t be right.

Steve Jordan, Director and Founder of the Polaris Music Prize, announced the addition of Greg MacPherson’s album Fireball to the 2014 Long List.  Due to an incorrect reference in the prize’s new web-based voting system, there was a miscalculation of votes.  The error was discovered and corrected, resulting in the addition of MacPherson’s album to the list. One title that would have been pushed out with MacPherson’s inclusion will also remain on the Long List.“We pride ourselves in triple checking to ensure every ballot is counted correctly so obviously this is quite an embarrassment for us. The developers have assured us all is working properly moving into our Short List vote. The bonus for music lovers is that yet another deserving album gets Polaris recognition,” said Steve Jordan on the error.

So this year’s Long List has 41 entries instead of the usual 40.  Nice.

2014 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

  1. Arcade Fire – Reflektor
  2. AroarA – In The Pines
  3. Austra – Olympia
  4. Philippe B – Ornithologie, la nuit
  6. Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
  7. Chromeo – White Women
  8. Cousins – The Halls Of Wickwire
  9. Cowboy Junkies  / Various Artists – The Kennedy Suite
  10. The Darcys – Warring
  11. Dead Obies – Montréal $ud
  12. Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
  13. DIANA – Perpetual Surrender
  14. Drake – Nothing Was The Same
  15. Freedom Writers – NOW
  16. Fresh Snow – I
  17. Frog Eyes – Carey’s Cold Spring
  18. Gorguts – Colored Sands
  19. Tim Hecker – Virgins
  20. Jimmy Hunt – Maladie d’amour
  21. Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
  22. Greg MacPherson – Fireball
  23. Kalle Mattson – Someday, The Moon Will Be Gold
  24. Moonface – Julia With Blue Jeans On
  25. Mounties – Thrash Rock Legacy
  26. Odonis Odonis – Hard Boiled Soft Boiled
  27. Owen Pallett – In Conflict
  28. Pink Mountaintops – Get Back
  29. PUP – PUP
  30. The Sadies – Internal Sounds
  31. Shad – Flying Colours
  32. Shooting Guns – Brotherhood Of The Ram
  33. Solids – Blame Confusion
  34. Rae Spoon – My Prairie Home
  35. The Strumbellas – We Still Move On Dance Floors
  36. Tanya Tagaq – Animism
  37. Thus Owls – Turning Rocks
  38. Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams
  39. Chad VanGaalen – Shrink Dust
  40. Bry Webb – Free Will

The Short List will be announced on Tuesday, July 15th at The Carlu in Toronto.  The Polaris Gala will be held on Monday, September 22nd at The Carlu, and webcast live on Aux.tv.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 30+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.