Music News

Here are the finalists for the 2020 SOCAN Songwriting Prize

SOCAN, Canada’s performance rights collection, has announced the finalists for its 2020 songwriting prize. The winner will end up with $5,000, a Yamaha keyboard, and a $500 gift card from Long & McQuade. And for the first time, all 20 (ten English and ten French) finalist will get a cash prize ($500) for being chosen for this shortlist.

English finalists:

  • “#uvangattauq” – written by Rita Claire Mike-Murphy, Zahrah Ibrahim, Andrew Morrison; performed by Riit; published by Girl On A Horse, Aakuluk Music Inc.
  • “Breaking Down” – written by Meghan Meisters, Mary Beth Ancheta, Alex Mak; performed by iskwé; published by Hyvetown Music Inc.
  • “Grip” – written by Clairmont Humphrey II; performed by Clairmont The Second.
  • “Mind Games” – written by Lauren Isenberg, David Charles Fischer, Jeff Hazin, Matt Kahane; performed by renforshort.
  • “Mountain” – written by Scott Zhang; performed by Monsune.
  • “Same Room” – written by JP Saxe, Ryan Marrone; performed by JP Saxe; published by SONY ATV Music Publishing Canada.
  • “Some Kinda Love” – written by Kira Huszar, Adam Pondang, Akeel Henry; performed by LOONY; published by Keys Open Doors, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd. Canada.
  • “The Spark” – written by William Prince; performed by William Prince.
  • “Thinking ‘Bout Love” – written by Khalid Yassein, Robyn Dell’Unto; performed by Wild Rivers; published by Robyn Dell’Unto Music.
  • “Thirteen” – written by Haviah Mighty, Preston Chin, Tim Hill; performed by Haviah Mighty.

French finalists:

  • “Attends-moi pas” – written by Vincent Roberge, Félix Petit; performed by Les Louanges; published by Bonsound.
  • “Aujourd’hui” – written by Alexandre Beauregard, Daphné Brissette, Guillaume Chiasson, Mélissa Fortin, Étienne Côté ; performed by Bon Enfant; published by Ambiances Ambigües, David Murphy et Cie.
  • “Cadran solaire” – written by Justin Boisclair, Thibault de Castelbajac, Benjamin Duplantie-Grenier, Thomas Thivierge-Gauthier, Maxime de Castelbajac, Clément Langlois-Légaré; performed by LaF; published by Disques 7ième Ciel.
  • “Chaleur 10” – written by Mat Vezio; performed by Mat Vezio.
  • “Coton ouaté” – written by Christian-Adam Gilbert, Mathieu Lafontaine; performed by Bleu Jeans Bleu; published by Chalet Musique SENC.
  • “Instant Zéro” – written by Laurence-Anne C. Gagné; performed by Laurence-Anne; published by Ambiances Ambigües and David Murphy et Cie
  • “La fin du monde à tous les jours” – written by Lou-Adriane Cassidy, Stéphanie Boulay; performed by Lou-Adriane Cassidy; published by Dare to Care.
  • “Maintenant ou jamais” – written by Félix Dyotte; performed by Evelyne Brochu; published by Dare To Care.
  • “Topographe” – written by Julien Bakvis, Jonathan Robert, Julian Perreault, Dominic Berthiaume; performed by Corridor.
  • “ZayZay” – written by Léo Fougères, Tom St-Laurent; performed by FouKi; published by Disques 7ième Ciel.

In both instances, fans are encourage to listen to and then vote for their favourites. You can do that here or use the Twitter hashtag #mySSPvote with the performer’s name in the Tweet. The winning songs will be announced after August 2, 2020.

Alan Cross

is an internationally known broadcaster, interviewer, writer, consultant, blogger and speaker. In his 40+ years in the music business, Alan has interviewed the biggest names in rock, from David Bowie and U2 to Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters. He’s also known as a musicologist and documentarian through programs like The Ongoing History of New Music.

Alan Cross has 38031 posts and counting. See all posts by Alan Cross

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.